You Wont Get Faster By Pacing It

Posted: June 22, 2016 in Uncategorized

I have to admit it.   After 20 years of running, I find pacing to be a waste of time.

If you want to finish in a 7-minute mile pace, then you need to come out in 6:30-6:45.

You aren’t going to be able to run even splits and you aren’t going to speed up later in the race.  It just doesn’t happen.

I had a bunch of hard races in May that really knocked my legs out for a while and in the last week I have finally started running fast again.

My goal for 2016 was to go under 20 minutes in the mile or a 6:27 pace.

So how do I train myself to get under that time?  GO OUT HARD.

Pacing is a waste of time.  If I want to beat that time, I am going to have to run the first 2 miles in probably under 12:30 (6:15 pace) and just hold on for dear life.

When I break my records, it is always because I started hard and I was somehow able to hold a strong pace.

I never, ever, was able to break a record by running even paces or finishing faster.  I also don’t like to train that way.

I meet people all the time that are running a minute faster than me in the 5k, but they are also running 40-50 miles per week.

That is junk mileage.

Right now I am only averaging 10-12 miles per week and all of my miles are hard.

When I go for a run, I run almost as hard as I can and I try to go under my desired racing pace in every run.

This weekend I am running a 5K in Coney Island.  I am getting really close to beating 20 minutes in the 5k, although I am not sure If I can do it as of yet.

Recently I have been going under the pace for first 2 miles, but then I have been bonking on the 3rd mile.  I figure for this race I am going to force myself to come out in 12:30 for the first 2 miles and whatever happens after that, happens.

If I can hold any type of decent pace I will be able to go under 20 minutes, but If I try to pace it or baby myself, I will have no chance of going under.

Updates coming soon!

-John

Check out my new workout guide! Only $2.99 or Free with amazon prime and a kindle!

Leave a Reply

