How To Deal With Injuries (I’m Injured Bad)

Posted: July 19, 2016 in Uncategorized

Injuries suck.  There is no other way to say it.

It’s interesting, but I’ve actually had way more injuries from running than I have from weight lifting.

Long-distance running will break your body down, there is no way around it.  Colds, shin splints, bone fractures, etc.

Running is a high-impact sport and whoever says otherwise is lying to you.

With weight lifting I’ve had more nagging injuries.  As of today, I need to warm up my rotator cuff’s for 20 minutes just to bench press or do any shoulder exercises, and I can’t even bend down without my knee’s cracking in pain.

Rest does help some injuries, but for nagging injuries, it sometimes makes it worse.

Trust me on this, sometimes taking time off makes my injuries hurt 10x more, depending on the body part.

When my lower back hurts, I need rest.

When my shoulders hurt, I need to make sure I don’t rest.

When my hamstrings hurt, I need rest.

But overall, if you are seriously injured and not just overworked, you should take some time off.

The key when taking off from the gym or running, is to stay on your diet.  Don’t use a week or two off from the gym as an excuse to gain 10 lbs.  If you stay on your diet, you should be able to minimize the losses.

So, what was my major sports-related injury?

NOTHING.

I tripped during my bachelor party, hit my head, and ended up in the hospital.

 

Screenshot_2016-07-17-13-15-22

JA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

