You Can’t Train At 100% Forever

Posted: August 12, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I have been really burnt out recently. Between training 6 days a week and my wedding last Saturday, this week has really been a struggle.

When you start feeling really burnt out, sometimes you just need to take a rest.  When you get to the point that you can’t even get out of bed anymore, it is probably time to take a day off.

This morning when I woke up, it was a struggle just to make it to the shower.  My legs were hurting, my muscles were aching and my body was overall tired.

Today I decided to bite the bullet and just take a day of rest.

When it comes to running, I feel like I am able to run 3 or 4 days in a row before I need some serious down time.  It is just impossible to run all year-long and I always need to add some down-time to recuperate.  During the year, I generally plan 3 to 5 races to train hard for and then I will take a couple of weeks off in the winter.

With the weight lifting, it is a little bit different.  If I am using 8-10 rep sets,  I can lift weights for the entire year. The only time it  really starts to hurt is when I start going heavy.  Single and doubles will start to really wear me down and I can usually only go  heavy for several week in a row.

So what is my advice?

I try to never take off or skip any training days, but once in a blue moon, I get so tired that I just need a day.  Just don’t make a habit of it.

-John Andre

jabeer

Check out my workout guide! Only $2.99 or free with amazon prime and a kindle!

Comments
  1. Loving the information on this website, you’ve done
    a superb job on the content.

Leave a Reply

