I Feel Like Something Bad Is Going To Happen To Me

Posted: August 31, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am not going to lie and say I am a relaxed person. I can be relaxed when hanging out with other people, but in general I am very regimented and goal-oriented.

The last 7 years have been very good to me.  It almost seems like everything I tried ended up working out, either from dumb luck or from hard work. But either way, for the last 7-8 years of my life I have been blessed.

I did a ton of traveling.  Hung of with friends both new and old.  Switched jobs several times without a break in employment.  Wrote a book, automatic 6-pack, and started a small side business that has grown for 3 consecutive years.

And to top it off, I just got married and my wife is pregnant right away!

But the stress is creeping in.  It’s one thing to be responsible for just yourself, but now in 7 months I have to be responsible for 3 people and god-willing a year after that, possibly 4 people (2 kids)

But its more than being responsible.  I also want to kick-ass like both my grandparents had and also my father.

As successful as I been the last several years, I always know in the back of mind, that I am one step away from losing everything.

One step away from waiting tables again or parking cars, or valeting people’s luggage.

I work.  I don’t care.  And I respect people who work.

But when you make it this far, you don’t want to ever go back.

If you look at most people’s lives over time, nothing ever goes up in straight path.

There will be down periods in your life.  War, divorce, illness, lawsuits, recessions.

Sh@t happens.

But if you focus and work hard, your trajectory should still be up.

chart

Recently, I have started to have some bad luck.  It cumulated with me getting stitches in my head and now I have a huge scar.

Screenshot_2016-07-17-13-15-22

To make matters worse, Southside Hospital in Long Island, sent me $16,000 in bills for adhesive stitches.

My insurance company will be picking up a large portion, but I will be stuck with a HUGE deductible payment.

To add insult to literal injury, I am also having some slight issues at my 9-5 job and the stress is rising.

Hospital bills.  A pregnant wife about to quit her job in 3 months and I’m not 100% confident in my own job.

I remember being in this position.

7 or 8 years ago my job at the time was in serious jeopardy.  My girlfriend at the time had moved out of my apartment without telling me and I was about to move back to my parent’s basement and start waiting tables again.

I remember going out to see Billy Idol live in the city.  Besides being the best live concert I’ve ever seen, before I arrived, I wanted to jump on the subway tracks and end it.

But Billy was really, really good. Especially when he played “Hot in the City”

After that night I decided to get moving and change everything around.

I interviewed and accepted a new job.  A friend from Florida moved up and split the rent with me.

And most importantly, I got myself back into incredible shape.

I feel like I am fully prepared for any back news at this point.

I cut most of my large expenses.

I built up a strong network.

I have a large nest egg

I have a small business that can be scaled up.

Maybe, I shouldn’t worry so much….

-John Andre

Leave a Reply

