Bulking Up Is Good, Just Don’t Get Too Fat

Posted: October 16, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I’m officially into my winter bulk up and I am rapidly increasing the calories.

This year I plan on going from a low of 149 lb’s this summer to possibly over 180.  Around 180-185 lbs is basically the heaviest I ever want to weigh again.  I don’t believe it is healthy to stay overweight for an extended period of time and I only plan on staying heavy for several weeks at most.

It’s interesting but I actually look really good during the first month that I start bulking up.  A little bit of extra calories makes a difference for me.  After only several weeks of increased calories I am already up to 70’s for 10 in shoulder dumbbells and 245 for 7 in the bench press.  My goals this year is to go up to 110’s for shoulder dumbbells and 335 for bench press.

Although I am consuming a large amount of calories, it is still important that you eat clean throughout the year.  I want to make sure that I put on the least amount of body fat while attempting to only add lean muscle mass.

My favorite part about bulking up is that I haven’t used a scale in a long time.  I am basically just eating a ton of food and not worrying about how much I weigh.  Around November 1st I will step back on the scale just to make sure that I am not gaining weight too fast.  If I am too heavy I will have to cut down slightly on the calories.

Overall, I feel that bulking up is important, just as long as you only stay heavy for a short time period.  It’s perfectly fine to increase the calories, but still make sure that you continue to eat cleanly.

I like to embrace winter.  Its starting to get colder outside, the sun is starting to set earlier and the holidays are right around the corner.

Couldn’t ask for a better time to bulk up.

So enjoy your extra eating, your extra sleeping and most importantly, your heavier lifting.

-John

Leave a Reply

