Training Partners Help, You Need Friends…

Posted: November 1, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I have been working out for over 20 years straight.  That includes competing in both High School and Collegiate track and field, over 20 powerlifting competitions and at least 100 road races (1 mile up to the Half Marathon)

And after all of these years, I can honestly say that have a training partner helps.  It is not 100% necessary, but overall it definitely helps.

In running, a training partner is really useful in breaking up the monotony.  Going for a 5-mile run on a Sunday morning becomes a lot easier when you have a training partner. For long-distance running, having multiple partners are even better.

If you watch the famous Kenyans or the Ethiopian marathoners train, they almost always run in large groups.

For powerlifting  and bodybuilding you don’t necessarily need a partner to train, but it really helps with both the bench press and squatting.

Personally, I don’t like to bench press over 275 lb’s without a spot.  Occasionally if I am going for a single and I am feeling strong, I will lift 275-300 lb’s  without a spot. But benching with a spot is not ideal and it could become dangerous.

Last week I bench pressed 265 for 5 reps and I just asked a random stranger for a spot.  It’s annoying to bother strangers, but If I want to go heavy, I am going to have to ask for a spotter.  I can’t risk my life every time I train my chest.

Every other exercise I can basically do by myself.  Deadlifts, shoulder dumbbells, biceps, chins, bent over rows, triceps, all of these exercises can all be done solo.

But I not going to lie, I miss having a training partner.

It’s a shame but I have lost all of my old training partners from either people moving to different cities, changing jobs or some people just becoming lazy and giving up.

A good training partner can keep you on track, motivate you and make you a better athlete.

This year my bulk up has been coming really good, but I have a feeling that I am going to at least need a consistent spotter soon.

There is no way I am going to start attempting 315-355lb bench presses while only weighing 165.

Fun week coming up! Day light savings time is this Sunday, including the NYC Marathon!

Happy Halloween…

Leave a Reply

