Don’t Become The “High Rep” Guy…

Posted: November 11, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

At least for my body, the “high rep”, multiple set workouts, do absolutely nothing for me.

I prefer to hit my muscles hard and end it quick.

I know that Schwarzenegger claims to have worked out for multiple hours at a time, but I’m not sure If I really believe it.  Even some of his old trainers have claimed that he didn’t work out that long.

I also don’t believe anything that I read.

I have tried using “high rep” workout routines numerous times and in almost every situation I ended up weaker and often injured.

This Fall I have been trying to get back to the basics and build up my strength.  I am focusing on 4-8 repetitions for most of the major body parts and I am also keeping my set counts as low as possible.

Is it working? Heck yeah.

It feels like only several weeks ago I was 149 lbs and running 4x  a week.  Now it is the middle of November and I am already up to 167 lbs and starting to lift heavy weights.

My lifts so far have been impressive:

  • 90lb shoulder dumbbells
  • 285 lb bench press
  • 500lb leg press

It is only November and I am starting to quickly approach my winter goals.  My bench press should be over 300 lb’s any day now and 100 lb dumbbells for shoulders are also in reach.

At some point I am going to have to slow down and reintroduce my cardio.  At first I was considering adding cardio workouts back into my routine by early December but now I am considering waiting until Valentines Day.

Personally, I don’t like having too much time pass without any cardio and I don’t think it is very healthy, but I feel like I needed more muscle mass this past summer.  I want to make sure that I retain some solid muscle next year, so I am going to try to stick it out a little bit longer.

Overall, if the high rep, multiple set workouts work for you, then by all means go for it.  But if you aren’t seeing gains right away, I recommend that you drop it immediately.

Bodybuilding is about making progress.  Your body has to make changes or you are wasting your time.

-John

Comments
  1. I guess it really depends on if someone is training for hypertrophy or strength gain, right?

    • JA says:

      I dont really get any hypertrophy from the multiple sets or high reps…never worked for me for some reason : (

      • Yeah I mean I feel more accomplished when I’m adding more weight to my bar, also. And generally encourage a compound program geared to STR gain.

        I decided to switch to body recomposition over PT for that reason: aside from different physiological reactions to training, people have different levels of enjoyment for them. It’s…not “hard” but I guess “frustrating” to reconcile what you know to be effective with exercise subjectivity.

Leave a Reply

