If You Don’t Do Cardio, You Will Die…

Posted: November 13, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

If is officially 2 months since I’ve done any cardio at all and I’m not going to lie, I feel horribly out of shape.

texasinsert

I am breathing heavy after simple tasks, my energy level has gone down and I generally feel lazy.

Cardio is IMPORTANT.

I need to add cardio back into my routine soon.  Of course, I am not advocating long-distance running by any measure, but I do believe everyone needs some amount of cardio.

This year I am going to hold out until at least Jan 1st.  I was originally going to try to make it until Valentines Day, but to be honest, I don’t know if it is healthy for me to wait that long.

It’s amazing how much less energy I have since I stopped doing cardio and my breathing is becoming very labored.

The only problem when I start adding cardio workouts is that It makes me slightly weaker in the gym.  For me to bulk up this year, the next several weeks are crucial.  I need to lift as heavy as possible before I get back into the cardio workouts.

It’s also important that I keep my calorie intake high.  If I keep my calorie intake up while doing cardio I can still bulk up, but it does make it slightly more difficult.  The key with the cardio is quality over quantity.  Sprinting, basketball, tennis, etc.  I want to avoid any type of long distance cardio and focus on my speed and quickness.

I did a solid year of cardio without missing more than a week and now only 2 months after taking a break, I can notice the difference.  And it is staggering.

Cardio is very important for overall health, just as long as you don’t over do it.

This is an eye opener for me.  For the next several weeks, I need to really start going heavier in the gym.  My 37th birthday is coming up next month, I have a child on the way and I definitely don’t need an early heart attack.

Clean diet, heavy lifting and then I will slowly add some cardio to my routine around New Years.

-John

Comments
  1. Gail says:

    Well, you won’t die….but as you’ve found out, it will just feel like it.

Leave a Reply

