Stop Hogging The Bench Press….Bro

Posted: December 1, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

There is nothing, and I repeat, nothing more annoying than someone hogging the bench press.  The only thing even close in annoyance, would be someone hogging the squat rack.

Why is it so annoying?

Because you really can’t do any other exercise for chest.  Yes, you can use dumbbells, but it is still not the same.  The absolute best way to build a solid chest, is by lifting heavy weights on the bench press.

It’s also annoying because some gyms, like mine,  only have 2 bench presses.

If I was to open my own gym, I would have a minimum of 4 bench presses.  Anything less and you always have people waiting around to lift.

In most gyms, you can easily remove a ton of useless machines to fit in some extra bench presses.

Personally, I don’t someone spending a lot of time on the bench press, just as long as you ARE WORKING OUT HARD.

The gym I have been going to in Manhattan does not have many serious lifters and it is starting to get frustrating waiting for people to finish using the bench press.

TAKE IT SERIOUS!

Lift heavy, lift fast and get on with your day.  Nobody cares how many sets you do, especially if you are using light weights and it’s not going to help your physique.  You need to make an effort!

Today I showed up at the gym all psyched up to bench press and it took me 25 minutes to finally get on the bench press.  A guy taller than me, but a lot weaker, was doing set after set with really light weights.

That type of training isn’t going to do anything.  You aren’t going to get stronger, you aren’t going to get cut unless you change your diet and if anything, you are probably going to get weaker.

Finally I couldn’t wait any longer and I asked if I could cut in with someone.  After only 20 minutes, I warmed up with 2 sets of 135 lbs, one with 225lb and then a work set of 305.  After that, I was done with bench press.

Not only did this guy complete 6 sets before I asked to cut in, but he kept lifting after I was done!  He must have completed at least 10 sets with weights that he should be curling for biceps and not bench pressing.

So that is my rant for the week.  If you are going to use the free weights, stop wasting everyone’s time and get down to business.  A couple HARD sets and that’s it.

This isn’t endurance training.  If you want to have big muscles, you need to lift heavy.

20161113_211403

(Bulking up)

-John

Check out my workout guide on amazon.com!

Leave a Reply

