Cold, Crappy Weather Is Good For You

Posted: December 30, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

What a crappy day today in NYC.  It was around 38 degrees and raining out when I woke up and in the afternoon it was just clowdy out and cold.

Also, the bad part of winter hasn’t really started yet.  I better not get used to these 38 degree days because its going to get a lot colder out in the next several weeks.

Most New York’ers like to complain about the winter and everyone says they are looking to move down South, but I actually try to embrace the winter.

Winter is good for you.

Most importantly, the winter gives you something to look forward to.  I appreciate having different seasons in NYC and experiencing different seasons makes nice weather just that much more enjoyable.

I remember several years ago traveling to California to visit a friend in March and it was 75 degrees out and sunny in Santa Monica.  Although it felt great compared to the freezing cold weather I had just left in Brooklyn, I noticed something weird.

The people were not excited.

When you are used to beautiful weather all year-round, your mood doesn’t change much.

When the first 70 degree days of the year appear in May and June in NYC, almost everyone goes outside.  The streets are packed and the mood is extremely upbeat.  It almost makes this crappy weather tolerable.

If I lived in Aruba year-round, I wouldn’t appreciate having a nice day.

Cold weather is also good for bodybuilding.  Since I know that I dont have to take my shirt off for several months, it is the perfect time to lift heavy and eat extra calories.

As the weather improves I will start to cut down, but now that it is 39 degrees out and raining, I am going to bench press heavy weights and eat steaks all day long.

Crappy weather is good.

It is a good time to lift heavy

It is a good time to study for exams

It is a good time to work on a side business

Sometimes you need some bad to appreciate the good and I am ready to embrace the horrible weather that is coming.

-John

Leave a Reply

