Only Heavy Weights Work

Posted: January 12, 2017 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been lifting weights for 21 years straight and I don’t plan on ever stopping.   After all of these years of training, I can officially tell what works for my body and what doesn’t.

I have competed in over 10 powerlifting competitions and my top lifts were a 345lb bench press, 585 lb dead lift and a 245lb military press.

A couple of years ago I tried to experiment with my routine and I switched to higher rep sets with more cardio.  The end result was that I looked a look worse.

There is a certain look that a powerlifter has that regular people in the gym will never achieve and the only way to replicate that look is by using heavy weights.

The heavier the weights, the better.

People like to claim that Arnold Schwarzenegger didn’t use heavy weights, but the truth is that he still went pretty heavy.

His bench press was over 400lbs and both him and Franco Columbu had deadlifted over 700.

Although you won’t win a powerlifting competition with those lifts, that is still pretty damn strong.

This winter I am trying to get back to the basics and start lifting heavy weights again.  As usual I have a bunch of nagging injuries, but so far, I have been lifting pretty heavy.

So far this winter, my bench press is over 305, I have reached 95’s for dumbbells shoulders and I have leg pressed over 600.

This year I want to focus on building up a solid physique that will really look good when I start to cut up for the summer..

Recently I was looking at some pictures of my physique and in every single one of my best years, I was lifting heavy weights.

Heavy weights work.  There is no short cut or alternative to heavy weights, so if you want to have a solid physique, you better start lifting heavy.

-John

Comments
  1. I have to slightly disagree in the statement that only heavy weights “work.”

    Our muscles grow under both heavy weight and high contraction; furthermore, we have two set of fibers in our muscles: slow twitch and fast twitch, and thus, to grow and further develop, we need to activate and train both.

    Personally, I have been placing large emphasis on high contractions and squeezes into my training for the past months and have seen a huge rise in progress — especially by incorporating resistance bands.

    Another factor to any recovery and growth in the muscles is nutrition. To really repair and grow the muscle(s) it’s important to be in a calculated surplus.

Leave a Reply

