Stress Can Kill You, Especially Men…

Posted: January 26, 2017 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Heart disease runs in my family.  If we survive our first big heart attack we have a good chance of living to our 90’s.  My father recently survived his first heart attack at age 69 and is now back to playing tennis and skiing.

My grandfather on my father’s side died from a heart attack in his sleep.  Went to bed one night and never woke up, probably the best way to go out.

I tested positive for high blood pressure once and surprisingly, it was over 10 years.  Back in my heavy powerlifting days, I was up over 185 lbs and the Doctor said I was slightly high.

Ever since then I have been just at the regular level, although I may be high now since I am in my last 3 weeks of bulking up.

But besides my blood pressure going up because I gained 35 lbs since the summer, there is also the stress level.

Recently my stress level has been through the roof, considering the following:

  • My wife is 7-months pregnant
  • They have laid some people off at work
  • My wife isn’t working
  • I just moved into a new apartment and raised my rent 50%
  • I haven’t signed up any new clients to my business yet for 2017 (Although getting close)
  • Studying for a major licensing exam at work

Recently, my life has just been insane.

There was a couple of nights that I had some nightmares and when I woke up, I couldn’t believe how hard my heart was beating.

If I was an older man, I have no doubt that I might have suffered a brutal heart attack.

Stress can kill you and so can a bad nightmare.

So what can we do?  We all need to work.

I figure I can still get away with killing myself at this age (37) but at some point I am going to need to slow down or relax more.

Slowing down is probably not an option, so I need to relax more.

I have several goals that I am trying to accomplish before May 1st, after that, I am taking some serious time off to relax, train and spend time with my new child.

-John

Leave a Reply

