You Are Only Allowed To Miss One Week Of Working Out Until Death

Posted: February 19, 2017 in Uncategorized

I am proud to announce that my winter bulk up is officially over and now it is time to start cutting up!

Although I still might be able to put some extra size and strength, I have started to add cardio back into my routine and I am about to cut down on my calorie intake.

This year I took a full 5-6 month break from any type of cardio.  I was feeling a little burnt out from all the running in the last several years, so I decided to give my body a solid rest.

When I started running again last week, I was in SHOCK by how much slower and out of shape I had become.

Running DOES NOT have any type of muscle or endurance memory.  If you stop running, you lose it, case closed.

Strength training on the other hand, seems to stick with you for a long time.  Even grown men that I know haven’t lifted heavy in years, still look pretty strong in their older years.

In other words, you can tell when someone used to be a powerlifter, but you can’t tell that someone used to be a runner.

I also realized that it’s really not healthy to skip any type of training.  Since I still consider myself young (37), I don’t mind missing a couple of weeks of cardio or gaining weight in the winter.  But when I get into my mid-40’s, I think I need to stick with a least a minimal amount of cardio year-round.

I can’t tell you how many times that I have heard a story about a former marathon runner that died from an early heart attack.  Of course the first thing everyone says is “he was in such good shape”.

But in reality, you don’t know if he or she was still in good shape.  Running and cardio does not have any muscle memory.  For all you know, this person might have taken the last several months off.

If you stop working out, you might die.

Keep training, keep up your cardio, keep up with your diet.

If you are really sick or really busy, it’s fine to take a day or two off. But overall, you need to force yourself to get out there for your entire life.

-John Andre

P.S. I’ve been extremely busy recently but I should have a new workout book out this Spring including some new videos.

Leave a Reply

