My Tips For Raising A Newborn…

Posted: June 25, 2017 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I bet you didn’t think I would write about this topic! But my son is almost 3-months old, so now I am a bodybuilder and a father. So, what are my tips for soon to be parents?

1.Get grandma over: I have a ton of energy and I am telling you, the first month is exhausting.  I don’t know how anyone can except to raise a child by yourself.  If you can get the grandmother’s to come over a couple of times a week, it is a lifesaver.  For child #2,  I need to commit the grandmothers’ to staying over more.  We did the first couple weeks mostly by ourselves.

2. Get your finances in order before the child is born.: You have 9-months to plan.  Get all of your hard work done before the child is born.  I took a big licensing test at work right before he was born.  Studying with a newborn is close to impossible.

3. It’s not expensive.  Like I said in step 2, you had 9 months to plan.  I spent a lot more when I was single.  As a single guy I was spending $150-200 a week on going out and another 5-10K a year on travel.  Now it’s just some formula and diapers.

4. Find out what he/she likes:  My son likes it when I play with him and walk him around, but he hates laying on me.  I think he cries a lot less when I hold him , compared to my wife, but we will fall asleep on my wife and not me.  I know what he likes and what he doesn’t, so I stopped trying to force activity on him that makes him scream.

5. Go outside for walks:  75% of the time when we take him outside he will fall asleep and its a great way to get some cardio done. Yesterday we walked 4 miles with him and he slept almost the entire time.

6. Check your insurance:  Insurance is a pain.  Check with your insurance months before your child is born.  I did all of my research and they still snuck some bills on me.  Overall, the delivery is costing me about $6,500 out-of-pocket.

7. Keep working out:  There was a couple of days where I was sleep working out, but overall, exercise helped to keep me sane.

8. Stay inside for a while: It’s bad news if the kid gets sick in the first couple weeks.  I’m on week 10 and I still haven’t taken him to the mall or a restaurant.  Life is long, take it easy for a couple of weeks and order out.  Now that he is almost 15 lbs, it’s not that serious to come down with a small fever or cold. But that could be a rough week if he gets sick as a small infant.

9. Be patient with your wife:  The first child is no joke.  I had ZERO experience with kids before taking my own son home from the hospital.  There will be nights where you are both up 3 in the morning and not in a good mood, try to relax.

10.  Don’t wait to have kids because of a stupid career:  It is risky to have kids later in life and also harder to conceive.  Don’t put off having kids because of some stupid office job.  Having children is life changing.  I had my first child at age 37 and my wife was 36.  We were very lucky to have everything go smooth, but we aren’t going to wait too long for #2.

-John

Check out my book on amazon.com!

Leave a Reply

