I Am Officially Using The “Prison Workout”…

Posted: April 11, 2020 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

What a crazy start to the year.

Not only did I completely rip both quads in a powerlifting competition, but I also did it about one month before NYC was shut down with the coronavirus.

Luckily, I was able to get my surgery done before things got out of hand, but even as I am starting to recover, the gyms are still closed.

Since I am going to be stuck at home for at least several more weeks, I have started the “Prison Workout”.

So, what is the “Prison Workout”?

The Prison Workout is exactly what is sounds like.  Its the type of workout that you would use if you were stuck in a prison cell.

It means a lot of calisthenics.

I am doing a very basic, high school gym class workout.

A) 250 reps of push ups over several sets

B) 100 reverse dips over several sets for triceps

C) 100 reps over 3 sets of lifting a holding chair over my head for shoulders.

Then for legs, unfortunately I am still a mess since my surgery, but I am starting to do multiple sets of stepping up to a small box, side leg raises and leg extensions without any weight off the side of my bed.

Cardio is non-existent since I my legs are shot, but from just using imminent fasting, I have been able to cut 17 lbs since Valentines day.

Results so far: Honestly, I have been pretty surprised.  I think if you are coming from several months of heavy lifting or powerlifting, like I was, then the multiple reps of calisthenics work pretty well.

If you don’t have a solid base of heavy lifting, then I don’t believe it would work.

Overall, I am actually enjoying my break from heavy weight lifting.  I have been lifting heavy for 25 years straight now and it actually feels good to spend these 3 or 4 months just using my body weight.

What else choice do I have?

-John Andre

Check out my books on amazon.com!

My Amazon Page

Leave a comment